Wanna Be a Rockstar

• Wanna Be a Rockstar

I've never told anyone this before because I'm afraid to, but I want to be a rockstar.
      Seriously. This isn't one of those childhood things, like becoming a princess, or a teenage dream.
      I'm serious.
      And I'm not doing it for the fame or the money. I look at all the classic legendary musicians (Bob Dylan, Beatles, etc) and I think "What happened to all of that?"
      I want to be a rockstar because I want to be legendary like them. I want to make my generation proud, so that we can hold our heads up high when older people tell us the music of this age sucks. I'm sorry to say that I agree with these older people, and I want to change that. I want to be an icon for my generation. I want to make a difference somehow.

I'm a sophomore and everyone tells me I have so much "potential." But not the kind I want.
      I'm on APs and just about every other academic thing you can get into and it's taking up a lot of my time. I wonder everyday if I should just drop it all and go straight for my dream. Practice my instruments for hours a day and just live in music.
      But I know that not everyone makes it. And I don't want to throw away all my education because I might not make it.

Everybody wants me to become a doctor or a lawyer, they tell me I can be anything I want to be because I'm so smart.
      I don't care.
      I don't have anything against being a doctor or lawyer, but I know I'll never be happy being one of them. I know I'd always wonder what could have been.

I'm just scared. I don't know what will happen.

I've never told anyone this, because I know what they'll say. "Oh, why?" and give me a weird look, because everyone expects me to cure cancer or something.
      I wanted to be photographer before, and I told only one person about it. She said, "OH.... Well... you have to be very creative for that. I think you'd be better off being a scientist."