Advice

• Ok, well, I am a high school sophomore and 16 years old this December 3. There is a girl in my 2nd block and the moment I saw her I thought wow. She is very pretty, and smart, I love smart girls, and I wanted to talk to her, but I didn't know her yet. I decided to wait a little and after a while she seemed like an outgoing atheletic girl. I know she plays volleyball now, and she has a boyfriend. Her boyfriend doesn't seem like her type, but I guess he is. When I was younger I was very, very atheletic and active, and the girl next door, nicole, was my best friend since kindergarten. I had to move away and we talked on the phone and it kind of eased off. I don't know what did it but I am now a little overweight, I have always been a "big boy" in body build. When I played football my coach said I was naturally muscular, but now I am overweight and it hides it. Of course now I am not too happy about being overweight and I try to stop eating so much for a week or so and nothing happens. I try to exercise but I feel hopeless knowing that it's not doing anything. I am 5'7" at 174 pounds. I am just scared that if I start to talk to her she will put me down and I will get put down very far since I am a little sensitive about what people say about me. What should I do to shape my life up a little? I don't want to play for a sports team at school but I am interested in working out but I don't have access to a gym. Also to mention I don't eat meat but I am not a vegetarian. I eat french toast, lol, it has eggs and I don't freak out if I see a fur coat or something like that. What would you do?
    • Well, first of all, eating less for a week won't do anything. At all. It needs to be a consistent thing. Otherwise, not only won't it do anything, it'll actually cause you to either gain weight or lose it more slowly.