PC Assembly help

• PC Assembly help

Hey people, if someone here is a tech expert, please help me. I have some questions about assembling a pc.

I have some knowledge about hardware (i just suck at software), i'm not a n00b, but i'm no expert to. Do you think someone like me CAN assemble a desktop? I was thinking about a gaming pc.

The principal components are (and correct me if i'm wrong or if i forgot something):

Motherboard
      RAM (goes in the memory slots in the motherboard)
      CPU (goes on the socket in the motherboard)
      Videocard
      HDD (i don't really know much about these, i heard about Sata, e-Sata and other things...)
      The box that gives power to the pc thati don''t really know the name since i'm not a native english speaker :p
      The tower itself (lol)
      The DVD drive

Things i have questions about: Fans. Where are the fans placed? The CPU has to have a fan above it, right? But i've heard about heatsinks...

But mostly. Do you think i could assemble a computer?
    • Re: PC Assembly help

McDerp wrote:

Things i have questions about: Fans. Where are the fans placed? The CPU has to have a fan above it, right? But i've heard about heatsinks...

I suggest you spend hours looking at youtube how-to videos and read building threads on overclock.net. You first need to familiarize yourself with all the parts and their function.
      [CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC][/CENTER]

Thank you both, i'll check the sites ;)

Do you think I should buy the components one time to time (now i buy the case and motherboard, next month CPU [and assemble this 3] the month after the graphic card and so on...) or buy them all when i already have the money?

Anyone here already assembled a pc?

Late post or not, still replying.

McDerp wrote:

I have some knowledge about hardware (i just suck at software).
      The point of this topic is generally hardware based, not software. :p

McDerp wrote:

Motherboard