Dealing With A Bad Haircut

• Dealing With A Bad Haircut

First things first, this entire “problem” is going to come across as very petty, and for that I apologize. I’m not an overly shallow human being…This has just been driving me mad for the past couple of months.

I’m a freshman (in high school) and I’m stuck with one of the worst haircuts I’ve ever gotten. It seems that all of my peers promptly exited their awkward phases and got incredibly gorgeous just in time for high school…and me? Well…

Towards the beginning of eighth grade, I had horrid blonde highlights and a shoulder-length bob. Bad idea. Anyway, February of last year, I was cast as Belle in the school production of Beauty and the Beast. This required me to dye my hair a reddish brown color. Our salon offered a cut-and-style deal, so I asked for some short layers starting at my shoulders (The once “bobbed” haircut had now grown to be a few inches past my shoulders.) The results were great. The style was pretty cute and easy to work with. I no longer had to straighten my hair. I simply blow-dried my hair for volume and straightened the layered ends if time allowed before school.

Now, I’ve been redying my hair myself every 2 months since then just to touch up the roots. However, right before school started this year, my mom took me back to the salon to “touch up” my hairstyle that had started growing out and to get my hair dyed again by a professional. Unfortunately, we ended up with a different stylist, and to my dismay, she thinned out my entire head of hair instead of just the ends and turned my side bangs, which I was very fond of, into short, straight-across bangs. It was pretty bad.