Being really shy and dating....

• Being really shy and dating....

Hi... I'm shy around people I don't know. It's how I always have been, though since high school started I've been getting better at social skills.

A little background information on my dating life... I've had a boyfriend since 8th grade, until mid 9th grade. We were even Homecoming representatives. I'm sensitive so it affected me a lot, plus we had the same circle of friends so it was awkward as well. He cheated on me twice. I've gotten over him.

To the point, I've been signed up for Theatre arts because I left a spot on my schedule sheet from last year blank. It's a small school, so most of the people in there I already know. There's this guy in there, (let's call him Gage.), he was assigned at the same table as me. He's a Junior and I'm a Sophomore. I knew who he was but only from seeing him in the hallways, but we small talked and I had a crush on him. That was our only class and he got his schedule changed.

I've gotten really close to Gage's best friend, Justin, since the beginning of the year, so I would also see Gage occasionally due to our mutual friend. A month ago, Justin texted me saying Gage wanted my number.

I've been texting Gage everyday for a month... but I'm so shy when I have a crush on a guy so I can't even think of what to say to him :( our conversations always run short because I don't reply. He's always started the conversation. He likes me back, too. He told me and mutual friends have told me. He's different than me, but so was my last boyfriend and we got along well. Gage parties, plays sports, and is social. He even brought me to one of his parties for a few hours last week. We talked a little, I met his family, sat by the fire, he taught me beer pong (I didn't drink), then I had to go home. I was shy the entire time :( He knows I am though, I have no idea why he likes me. I don't understand why he won't get someone more outgoing and prettier. :confused::confused: