Why do we have a point of view?

• Why do we have a point of view?

Believe me there isn't an easy way to word this.

I'll try to explain:
      I believe people are like machines in that we do things because of how we are programmed. I'm no neurological scientist, but I get the big picture that it's how are brains are wired up that causes us to react to stimuli the way we do.

What I keep thinking about is that if we are just robots of flesh and blood so to speak, then why am I here? I being this mind. Why do I experience.
      If you're not following me, I'll give the example of we don't tend to think a computer is alive. It carries out it's own processes, it does things, you stimulate it and it reacts because that's what it is programmed to do. But we would never say it has a mind. That there is something there that is experiencing. Experiencing being the best word I can think of. Something knowing or thinking that it's there and that it's doing things.

My mind's (unrelated to post) gone off track, I'll try and remember what I was going to type next but hopefully I can get some responses from this. Thank you, if you did, for suffering my writings in their entirety.
    • Re: Why do we have a point of view?

Correct me if I am wrong, but it sounds like you are describing the philosophical "mind-body problem"; the examination of the relationship between consciousness and the brain, as well as between mind and matter.
      Unfortunately, we have yet to completely understand the nature of consciousness.. but there are plenty of different theories by many different kinds of experts and professionals. If you are interested I would be more than happy to provide you with some sources or give you my own personal understanding on the subject from what I have read/learned.
      [CENTER][FONT="Garamond"][COLOR="DarkRed"][SIZE="3"]Seduce&Destroy[/SIZE]
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
      You're sure you still wanna play this evil lil game?
      [/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]