The Thrill of Skiing!

• The Thrill of Skiing!

Why do you love winter? / What about winter do you love? To answer the first, until I started learning skiing as a sport, I disliked winter intensely. And I found learning quite fun for being under an experienced instructor who also was a Peak Leader, so everthing I did was safe. Skiing doesn't have to be expensive. At first you join a ski club, or find a learning centre online. You hire skis, ski clothes, helmet, boots etc, but the clubs or the group you are with will supply you everything.

That's how I started, just seven years ago. Skiing has made a huge difference to my confidence and general outlook on life. Of course I experience fear just before launching off a peak our helicopter has dropped us on, but once launching off, that fear goes to be replaced by an adrenaline rush second to none! I love skiing fast on empty slopes. It brings a smile to my face and still makes me feel like a 18 year old which was when this great sport for me all began. Skiing on a powder stretch that no-one else has been on is thrilling! When heli skiing I never think about work and the stresses are left far behind along with any unhappiness. I also found skiing great for exercise, though being diabetic I had to tank up on extra food as 6 hours' worth of skiing can burn up to 3,000 calories. I always packed extra grub and some glucose tablets as a standby.

The art of skiing is to keep yourself steady on the slippery slope. To help balance yourself, you naturally engage your core stability muscles - the sheath of deep muscle that starts either side of your spine and runs around your body, ending up in your pelvic region. Mastering your core stability will also help you balance on the piste and improve your overall coordination. Skiing also is great for cardiovascular fitness.