No matter what I do I keep gaining weight .. what should I do?

• No matter what I do I keep gaining weight .. what should I do?

I'm a sophomore in high school and since starting high school I've had a really hard time with gaining weight. I've always been a little bit bigger, but have never really been considered overweight and was skinny as a kid. During the past two years I've gained about 50 pounds (mostly in my belly and legs). Both of my parents and my sister have issues with being overweight and my mom is southern, so she loves cooking big meals but I've always been the one in the family that has was athletic and healthy. For the past four months or so I've been working out more and trying to eat smaller portions, but I've still been gaining weight. My parents think it's just because I'm growing, but I checked online and my bmi says that I'm overweight for my height and age. I hate how my clothes fit now and I hate taking pictures because of how I look. I don't know what to do because I don't really have control of the food in my house and since my family doesn't really care about eating healthy food its hard to find good options. I don't want to keep gaining weight and I don't know where to start losing it since despite everything I've tried I've gained weight. Any tips would be great or foods I should start eating or workouts I could do at home that target fat areas? thank you
    • It's normal for your body to change during your teenage years and you may be genetically predisposed to have more weight around your abdomen and thighs. I know it may feel unusual (as you're used to being slimmer as a child) but your body will adjust as you become a woman. It's normal for a lot of ladies to have more weight above the knee and below the waist.

Sometimes working out just replaces our fat with muscle. We may look slightly slimmer but our weight may not change.