Is It Too Late To Turn Back?

• Is It Too Late To Turn Back?

Hi all.

I'd like some advice from people who hopefully know what they're talking about.
      (sorry about the length, but i'm looking for some real opinions)

So I was in a wonderful relationship last winter, which lasted 4 and a half beautiful months. I thought I had finally figured out what love was, and that I had found the person I wanted to spend the rest of my life with. I know, it's corny and not very believable, but that's how I felt. :\

As you can probably imagine, he left me. It didn't come as a complete shock, because we had been having little squabbles for a couple of months. The honeymoon phase of the relationship was over, and I think we were both feeing very uneasy about what the future would bring (I graduated this year, he still has another year to go).

He didn't like a lot of things about me, but I knew he loved me and cared for me. I was never happy with anything, I was stressed out a lot because of school and home problems, I sometimes lashed out at him when I was angry or sad (mostly because I could feel my control over the relationship starting to slip away) and it just turned into a huge "it's all my fault" mess.

He did some stupid shit too, mind you. He's a good kid and was very honest and genuine with me about things, but he just did some really stupid things... like not making any effort to do something for my birthday in march. Hell, he wouldn't even SAY "happy birthday". It was really disappointing, but for some reason he couldn't make himself do anything. He apologized to me in great lengths about the situation, and I forgave him, of course. His love meant more to me than a birthday ever could. His excuse was that he had no real attachment to material things, therefore he couldn't buy me anything. -sigh- To this day I'm still confused by the whole situation.