MMA for fitness

• MMA for fitness

I'm really interested in taking up Muay Thai, BJJ, or going to an MMA class or something of that nature. I've read the training regimes are very vigourous and would improve my fitness a lot as I'm not a highly active person. I also wanna go for the self defense side of things.

Has anyone had any experience with this sorta thing and do you think it'd be good to lose weight and get fit? :)
    • Re: MMA for fitness

If you eat healthy and go to the gym regularly, Muay Thai and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu are great for getting in good shape. If you don't, you may learn something, but find it frustrating more than anything. It's really fun, I'll tell you that, but it's not for everybody, just like many say for high school wrestling, though I have no experience with that. I've been training BJJ since February '08 and I've done a little stand up here and there. BJJ is really physical though, if you don't want to be beaten and bruised and sore, don't do it. But if you can handle that, you'll love it. Just depends on the person tbh. But it'll get you in shape if you stick with it.

^ Totally agree with him.

I took up Muay Thai around summer last year and have never regretted it. Yeah sure it hurts a lot, really vigorous training, the occasional verbal abuse from my coach in training and some other things. But believe it or not those things are fun for me and a lot of other people. It's a challenge and it tests you, to see what you're capable of and how far you can go.

They also say when you take up Muay Thai or any martial art that is equivalent, you'd be in the best shape of you're life. Well it also depends if the one who is teaching you is good because I've had experience with Muay Thai classes lasting only 30 minutes and thats not good. Now my training is 2-3 hours from 6am to 8 or 9am then again in the afternoon which is from 5pm to 8 or 9pm.
      [FONT="Lucida Sans Unicode"][COLOR="Red"]Cabs.[/COLOR][/FONT]